So here I am

After months of planning I have finally arrived. Washington DC in all its hot and humid secret service cordoned off monumental majesty. The National Mall underscores the belly of America’s capital city like the canyons and vallies of the west, its monuments and memorials laid out on proud display. Tourists struggle along in their over weighted thirsty hordes buying bottles of ice cold water from street vendors who probably fill them from taps.

I said hi to Mr President and found air-conned art in the National Gallery. Glimpses of Capitol Hill on the way. I find myself looking at the people not the paintings in galleries but I’m too shy to ask if I can take a photo of them. Walking up to the Washington Monument I decide to capture some of them as they capture each other and hope to immortalise their moment. Like the little boy holding out his hand as if to carry the weight of the giant needle with a grin. And the girl in the I love DC T-shirt standing in the WW2 memorial fountain.

My couchsurf host Anna has been so helpful and kind helping me get settled on these first days of my trip. Her apartment is small but even on a camping mat on the floor I have had two great nights sleeping. It helps to be thoroughly tired out, which I am. Traveling and cities certainly help in that respect. Tonight we are seeing a film about forest destruction in the Dominican Republic as part of the DC Environmental Film Festival. In the meantime I am off to another art gallery, this time the Hirshhorn which houses more contemporary work. So I best head off, it’s a 50 minute walk in this 90 degree heat. Water packed.

I shall leave Mr President to sort out or make worse the world’s problems. Crisis? What crisis? I’m on vacation!

FB_IMG_1469562869080

Wind from the Sea by Andrew Wyerth 1947. National Gallery of Art, Washington DC.

 

2 thoughts on “So here I am

    • Well thank you Rachel. Glad you like it. I’m almost a week into my trip having spent these first days in DC acclimatising to the heat and humidity. Tomorrow I collect my rental car and head out on the open road proper. Hopefully I will find some time to write during all my adventures. Be sure to keep me company 😎

      Like

Leave a Reply

